Isle of Wight Cricket

Newclose Awards

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

Newclose awarded its annual batting and bowling awards at it 10 year celebration evening on the 13th September. The event started with a game against Milton Bryan CC from Bedfordshire, which was a tight affair but with a victory for Newclose.

Oli Soames and Joe Weatherley from Hampshire CCC were guests of honour for the celebrations and the evening celebration were led by trustee Hugh Griffith. The awards are given to the best bowling and batting performance at Newclose by an Isle of Wight youth player.

This year’s bowling award went to Xaiver Meadows for his man of the match performance taking 5-14 v Bembridge & St Helens U11s in the Isle of Wight County Press U11 Cup Final. He also retired whilst opening the batting with 25no for Ryde CC.

Double winner on the night was Jayden Frankling was awarded the Batting award for his 50no v Oxfordshire in the ECB Super 9s competition (batters have to retire at 50) His first of the season and set the team on the way to a 132 run victory and a successful season as the team reached the semi finals, losing out to Yorkshire.

Jayden was also awarded the Will Luckett Memorial Award (Young Volunteer) for his hard work off the pitch with the disability side, taking on many roles to support the team and promoting the cricketing opportunities for disabled individuals. Jayden was not able to make the evening due to a family commitment.


web design by island webservices