Isle of Wight Cricket

Newport win Indoor Cup

For older news stories please visit the news archive page

28 Oct 2012 Newport followed up their success of last season's indoor league with a cup victory after a convincing 96-run victory over Ryde in the final. Newport batted first and started well through openers, Gareth Bricknell and Tom Dye. The latter was first to fall, as he was run out for 18 but the run rate was incredibly high and Newport were in a strong position. Harry Dye was also run out, making 20, but Bricknell returned to the dugout after retiring on 25. Harris Payne made just 6 before he was stumped by Rob Hobbs off the bowling of Mark Oatley, but Nat Riddett became the second batsman to retire. Bricknell returned to the crease and added 17 more before he was caught for a well made 42. Riddett was the final wicket to fall, making 30 and Louis Payne added an important 23 not out. Newport finished on a massive 159-5, Stuart Robertson the pick of the Ryde bowlers, finishing with 1-29 from his three overs. In reply, Ryde got off to a dreadful start and lost wickets at regular intervals. Mark Oatley (6) and Julion Jayerajah (0) were run out in successive deliveries, before Stuart Robertson fell in the same manner for 2. Lawrence Tolfrey fell to Harris Payne for 8 before Rob Hobbs went to Harry Dye without scoring, leaving Ryde 49-5. However, young Jordan Galsworthy batted well and was the star performer for Ryde, he made 29 before he was well caught by Bricknell off Riddett, Ryde 63 all out.

Earlier in the evening, Newport had booked their place in the final after a much closer game with GKN. GKN batted first and posted a respectable 132 all out from their 12 overs, Mark Hartnell impressive in his 55 and aided by 25 from Alan Johns. Gareth Bricknell took 2-23 and Harris Payne 2-25 for Newport to restrict the East Cowes side. In reply, 28 not out from captain, Tom Dye helped ease any early nerves and after Nat Riddett chipped in with 25 not out, Newport's chase never really looked in doubt. They passed the target in the 11th over, with two wickets remaining.

Ryde made it to the final after a 33 run win over Northwood. Mark Oatley top scored for Ryde with 32 not out and was helped by Jordan Galsworthy (27*) and Rob Hobbs (20*) as Ryde hit 126-3, all three wickets run outs. Oatley then impressed with the ball as well and took 3-22 to make life tough for Northwood. Gavin Paddock tried in vain to save his side with 42, and was supported by Ashley Goldsmith with 19, but Northwood were bowled out in the tenth over for just 93.
web design by island webservices